Monday, November 7, 2016

One of The Few {REVIEW} Just in time for Veteran's Day

With both Election Day and Veteran's Day looming near, I bring you an aptly timed review on a great book, "One of the Few," written by Jason B. Ladd.



Now, I need to be honest for a moment. When approached to review this book, I was distracted by 10000 different things going on, then I got lost in photos of Alaska, and somehow I missed that this was not a fiction piece. If I had known it was a non-fiction, I may have skipped on reading and review. And let me tell you folks, THAT would have been a true travesty! This book is fascinating and fantastic.

The writing is superb. Simple as that. It is requires thought at times, but it's not overwrought with military phrasing and abbreviations. Of course there's military phrasing and abbreviations, but it's easy enough for a civilian to understand with ease.

One thing to note: I wanted so badly to be an Air Force pilot. this book isn't about that branch, but naval pilots and marines are close enough. I wanted it so badly, I went behind my parents' backs and took the ASVAB. I not only took the ASVAB, I nearly aced it. I wanted it that bad. I went ahead for the physical, and my 5'1 self (at that time) was just too short to fly. they said I could would in air traffic control, and one guy even snarked that I wouldn't even have to duck to avoid the plane. The Army offered me the Blackhawk....but the F-16 had my heart, and then my dad found out. There went my dreams of being a military pilot haha. With that said, I thoroughly enjoyed reading about the author's time spent in the military, the training, etc. It was like reading what I had missed out on. I often wonder how different my life would be today if I had  ignored my dad's wishes. Who knows, right? I am right where God wanted me, so I will take solace in that.

It was fascinating to get a peek into the author's mindset at differing times and events in his life. His search for meaning and God serves as an inspiration. When I first saw the title, I only saw it as a military reference. It was when I go to the end, I realized the significance. "For many are called, but few are chosen." Matthew 22:14 (KJV)

About the book: 

A US Marine fighter pilot explores life's important questions as he prepares for combat, searches for truth, and wages spiritual warfare during his mission to become a better husband and father. 

Jason B. Ladd grows up in a military family with loving parents but spends his young life filled with spiritual apathy. 

Ladd enters the US Marine Corps, becomes a fighter pilot, and sees combat in Iraq before life events align to nudge him into profound spiritual inquiry. Digging deep into his quest for truth, he realizes the art and science of fighter pilot fundamentals can help him on his journey. 

Filled with stories that contrast his spiritual apathy with his post-Christian worldview passion, One of the Few is the compelling life story of a spiritual seeker engaged in a thrilling profession combined with a strong, reasonable defense of Christianity. 

For fans of Ravi Zacharias, Lee Strobel, and Frank Turek, Ladd’s remarkable journey shares the transformative power of faith during a time when belief in God is dismissed and religious liberty in the military is attacked.

I highly recommend this book to others! Thank you to Jason B. Ladd for the opportunity to read, and review, this remarkable book!

**I received this free from the author in exchange for my honest opinion. I wasn't required to write a positive review, nor was I compensated in any other way. All opinions expressed are my own or those of my family.**

2 comments:

  1. thanks for the review. It's been a pleasure!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Oh! Interesting review! I like to read in my spare time. I especially love the Christmas holidays, when I can sit with a book by the fireplace. So I decided to spend more time reading, and I ordered coursework here http://paidpaper.net/review-of-essaybox/ . Now I have a lot of free time for hobbies.

    ReplyDelete